2019 Cohort

BESA welcomes the UC Davis Biomedical Engineering incoming class of 2019!

 

Keon Anderson

  • Contact: klander@ucdavis.edu
  • Hometown: Lodi, CA
  • College: BS in Bioengineering from the University of the Pacific
  • Hobbies: Working out, hiking, skiing, watching movies, traveling, and trying new food!
  • Research Focus Area: Pre-med with a combination of tissue engineering and bioimaging

Janani Aiyer

  • Contact: janaiyer@ucdavis.edu

Kwan Lun (Victor) Chiu

  • Contact: vchiu@ucdavis.edu

Connor Dougherty

  • Contact: cjdougherty@ucdavis.edu

Lauren Gloekler

  • Contact: legloekler@ucdavis.edu 
  • Hometown: Concord, CA
  • College: BS in Biomedical Engineering from the University California, Davis
  • Hobbies: Line dancing, reading, hammocking, perfecting my YoloBerry order, exploring
  • Research Focus Area: Biomechanics

Katherine (Katie) Haddad

  • Contact: khaddad@ucdavis.edu
  • Hometown: Norman, Oklahoma
  • College: BS in Biomedical Engineering from the University of Oaklahoma
  • Hobbies: Hiking and exploring national parks
  • Research Focus Area: Tissue engineering and regenerative medicine

Grace Jeng

  • Contact: gjeng@ucdavis.edu
  • Hometown: San Diego, CA
  • College: BS in Biomedical Engineering from the University California, Davis
  • Hobbies: Reading, playing video games, ice skating
  • Research Focus Area: TBD

Donghoon Kim

  • Contact: hyehyunkim@pknu.ac.kr

Hyehyun (Sally) Kim

  • Contact: hyhkim@ucdavis.edu
  • Hometown: South Korea, Busan
  • College: BS in Chemical and Biological Engineering from the University of Colorado, Boulder
  • Hobbies: Swimming, traveling, pilates
  • Research Focus Area: Regenerative medicine and bioimaging

Eric Lee

  • Contact: ilee@ucdavis.edu
  • Hometown: Taipei, Taiwan
  • College: BS and MS in Biological Science and Applied Chemistry from National Chiao Tung Univeristy
  • Hobbies: Volleyball, skiing, and biking
  • Research Focus Area: Biophotonics and biomedical imaging 

Emily Lee

  • Contact: esylee@ucdavis.edu

Taryn Loomis

  • Contact: tloomis@ucdavis.edu
  • Hometown: Georgetown, Massachusetts
  • College: BS in Biomedical Engineering from Worcester Polytechnic Institute
  • Hobbies: Hiking, traveling, soccer, and basketball
  • Research Focus Area: Tissue engineering

Cassidy (CJ) Mileti

  • Contact: cjmileti@ucdavis.edu
  • Hometown: Rockville Centre, NY
  • College: BS in Biomedical Engineering from Cornell University
  • Hobbies: Playing the clarinet, playing video games and board games, watching TV/movies, and bouldering
  • Research Focus Area: Tissue engineering and regenerative medicine

Matthew Nakaki

  • Contact: mjnakaki@ucdavis.edu
  • Hometown: Stockton, CA
  • College: BS in Bioengineering from the University of California, Merced
  • Hobbies: Running, snowboarding, PC gaming, and watching hockey
  • Research Focus Area: Tissue engineering

Yushuan Peng

  • Contact: ytpeng@ucdavis.edu

Valerie Porter

  • Contact: vporter@ucdavis.edu
  • Hometown: Concord, CA
  • College: BS in Bioengineering: Biosystems from the University of California, San Diego
  • Hobbies: 3D printing, 3D modeling, Arduino, designing medical/safety devices for animals, hiking, whale watching, story writing, and video gaming
  • Research Focus Area: Biomedical imaging

Sonya Roberts

  • Contact: sonroberts@ucdavis.edu

Alexander Simileysky

  • Contact: asimileysky@ucdavis.edu
  • Hometown: San Jose, CA
  • College: BS in Biomedical Engineering with a minor in Exercise Biology from the University of California, Davis
  • Hobbies: Taekwon-Do, reading, going on walks, playing games, mountain biking, and skiing
  • Research Focus Area: Musculoskeletal biomechanics

Nikki Tjahjono

  • Contact: ntjahjono@ucdavis.edu
  • Hometown: Dublin, CA
  • College: BS in Bioengineering from the University of California, Berkeley
  • Hobbies: Video games, playing the viola, trying new ramen restaurants
  • Research Focus Area: Cell and tissue engineering

Chih-Chun (Jack) Tung

  • Contact: ctung@ucdavis.edu
  • Hometown: Mialoi, Taiwan
  • College: BS in Biomedical Science and Engineering from National Central University
  • Hobbies: Badminton and watching YouTube
  • Research Focus Area: Signal processing and musculoskeletal biomechanics

Gabrielle Van der Gaag

  • Contact: glvandergaag@ucdavis.edu

Alex Vargas-Martinez

  • Contact: javvargas@ucdavis.edu